Thanks Dad

One of these days my posts won’t all be about my dad dying, but for now the loss of my father is still relatively new and this is how I am choosing to work through it. I never got to say goodbye to him, or thank him for everything that he taught me.  If I could have had that chance, then these are just a few of the many things I would thank him for. I’ll keep this one short and sweet.

First, I would thank him for the common sense that he instilled in all three of his kids. Having common sense is like having super powers some days. Seriously, some of the people I encounter on a daily basis blow my mind.

Second, I would thank my father for showing us how to love, and how to treat your significant other. He taught us that a lot of work goes into having a good relationship/marriage, and it isn’t something that just happens like the movies can make it seem. It’s like building a house. The foundation has to be strong to ensure the house will stand through the storm.

Third, I would thank my good ol’ dad for teaching us that less is more (it is the little things in life). It isn’t about all of material things that you own. I’d rather have the memories over “the stuff”.  At the end of the day that Gucci bag isn’t going to bring a smile to your face or hug you back when you need a hug(and if it does.. well, then so be it). To me though,  at the end of the day it is all just stuff.

Fourth, I would thank my father for passing on his great sense of humor. Being able to joke around with people is awesome, and it’s even better when someone can throw it right back at ya.

[I have my mother to thank for all of these things too. My parents were like a power couple- they worked great together. I can only hope that I will be as blessed to find someone to build a relationship with!]

Leave a Reply

